FANDOM


"Mourir pour exterminer le plus grand mal. Sache que c'est ça l'esprit du Gotei 13."
- Genryusai Shigekuni Yamamoto.

Le Gotei 13 (護廷十三隊, Goteijūsantai; Compagnie des 13 Divisions Impériales) est la branche militaire principale de la Soul Society, ainsi que l'organisation militaire que les Shinigami rejoignent en majorité après avoir quitté l'Académie.

HistoireModifier

TheFirstGotei

Les premiers 13 capitaines.

Alors que l'histoire du Gotei 13 reste plutôt inconnue dans son ensemble, l'organisation fut fondée par Genryusai Shigekuni Yamamoto, qui est resté aux commandes du groupe depuis sa conception. 

La première génération du Gotei 13 était constituée de Yamamoto, Yachiru Unohana et 11 autres capitaines. Shunsui Kyōraku considère cette génération comme la version la plus forte du Gotei 13.

Selon Yhwach, le Gotei 13 du début n'était des "défenseurs" qu'en nom, ne comprenant rien de plus qu'une bande de meurtriers brutaux, mais c'était au final pour cette raison précise qu'ils représentaient une force dont il fallait avoir peur. C'était aussi parce que Yamamoto était un leader sans pitié qui considérait même ses subordonnés comme des pièces facilement remplaçables. Il est remarqué que le Gotei 13 a vécu des changements spectaculaires après l'extermination des Quincy, se relaxant grâce à la paix qui s'ensuivit et ayant enfin trouvé un sens de justice après s'être rendu compte de nouvelles choses à protéger et à chérir.

MissionModifier

Le Gotei 13 est une force militaire qui agit en suivant quatre responsabilités principales :

  • la défense du Seireitei , qui est le centre de la Soul Society.
  • le déploiement des membres de Divisions en territoire ennemi pour des opérations de combat.
  • le déploiement des Forces Spéciales comme moyen de défense dans le Monde Humain.
  • l'acheminement des âmes vers la Soul Society.

But de l'OrganisationModifier

En général, le Gotei 13 n'agit pas en tant qu'unité cohésive. Le commandement des divisions est souvent laissé à la discrétion de leurs capitaines respectifs, qui les gèrent de la manière qu'ils veulent, permettant une diversité d'assets entre les divisions ainsi que la création d'institutions spéciales qui leurs sont connectées. Le devoir principal du Gotei 13 est de défendre le Seireitei, mais ils sont aussi assignés à la défense de districts du Rukongai. An addition à ses tâches, les Shinigami doivent gérer leurs affaires assignées au Monde Humain

La seule autorité générale qui puisse mener à une action combinée de front est un décret de la Chambre des 46, ou plus souvent par le biais du Capitaine-Commandant. Il n'est pas rare pour les capitaines de ne pas se voir en groupe entier pendant de longues périodes de temps, à moins qu'une affaire impliquant la Soul Society entière, la sanction d'un capitaine ou au contraire, la promotion d'un capitaine n'ait lieu. En règle générale, les capitaines sont étalés à travers la Soul Society à gérer les occupations de leurs divisions, peu importe en quoi elles consistent. Ils sont tellement étalés que réunir les capitaines en un groupe, ou même leurs lieutenants, peut normalement prendre jusqu'à un jour.

A moins que le Capitaine-Commandant ne l'ait personnellement ordonné, les capitaines peuvent choisir s'ils assistent ou non aux réunions (à leurs risques et périls) ou s'ils veulent s'impliquer dans les crises journalières de la Soul Society. Les capitaines n'ont pas le droit, sans permission, de mener des activités en dehors de leur juridiction ou de leur division. Le capitaine d'une division ne peut pas sanctionner l'officier d'un autre capitaine.

Officiellement, le Corps des Nécromanciens et l'Onmitsukidō ne font pas partie du Gotei 13, mais depuis que Soi Fon est à la fois capitaine de la 2nde Division et à la tête de l'Onmitsukidō, l'Onmitsukidō est désormais sous le contrôle du Gotei 13. De plus, le capitaine du Corps Kidō (des Nécromanciens) a été connu pour obéir aux ordres et convocations  du Capitaine-Commandant du Gotei 13.

FonctionnementModifier

StructureModifier

Le Gotei 13 est composé de treize divisions, certaines d'entre elles étant spécialisées. 

Le Gotei 13 est dirigé par le Capitaine-Commandant, qui a l'autorité statuaire de gérer toutes les affaires du Gotei 13 tout en se référant à l'autorité de la Chambre des 46 lorsqu'il s'agit de problèmes concernant la Soul Society.

Comme pour chaque armée, le Gotei 13 a des rangs. Il y a 20 rangs d'officiers, mais pas de rang pour les non-officiers. Le plus inférieur est le chiffre, le plus haut gradé est le rang. Ci-dessous sont les rangs et leurs descriptions, du plus haut au plus bas en matière de force. Le Gotei 13 est une organisation avec une hiérarchie basée sur le mérite. Il a mis de côté le système de rangs basés sur l'ancienneté, et les abilités sont les seuls aspects qui servent à déterminer le rang de quelqu'un.

Conseil des CapitainesModifier

Les capitaines se réunissent dans le hall principal du siège de la Première Division pour discuter les problèmes importants concernant leurs divisions spécifiques et les affaires touchant la Soul Society. Ce conseil est hautement formel, avec le capitaine-commandant dirigeant les procédures. Tous les capitaines sont considérés comme égaux (à l'exception du capitaine-commandant), et décident uniquement du chemin de leur division, sauf si le capitaine-commandant l'a stipulé autrement. Les votes sont menés suivant un consensus unanime.

  • le Capitaine-Commandant (総隊長, Sōtaichō; Capitaine Général) est le dirigeant suprême du Gotei 13. Le position lui recquiert de superviser toutes les opérations du Gotei 13, de l'Onmitsukidō et du Corps Kidō lorsque le bien-être du Seireitei et de la Soul Society est en danger. La seule force auquel répond le Capitaine-Commandant est la Chambre des 46, qui élit le successeur du Capitaine-Commandant après sa mort. L'ancien détenteur du titre est Genryūsai Shigekuni Yamamoto de la 1ère Division, qui avait tenu le poste pendant les dernières 1000 années. Le Capitaine-Commandant actuel est Shunsui Kyōraku.
  • un Capitaine  (隊長, Taichōlit. Commandant d'Unité) est le dirigeant d'une des treize divisions.

​Les Capitaines sont généralement les Shinigami les plus respectés au sein de la Soul Society, certainement à égalité avec les leaders du Corps Kidō et de l'Onmitsukidō. A l'origine avec une seule exception, tous les capitaines sont capables d'utiliser l'étape finale de leur Zanpakutō, et sont beaucoup plus puissants que même leurs lieutenants. Sachant que le Bankai donne aux capitaines en moyenne cinq à dix foix plus de force qu'un Shinigami dans l'incapacité de le faire. Ils ont considérablement entraîné , voire même maîtrisé leurs Benkai, leur permettant d'utiliser cet énorme pouvoir avec efficacité en combat. La plupart des capitaines sont compétents en Shunpo et Kidō, et ont généralement une connaissance approfondie de l'histoire des Shinigami et de stratégies militaires. Tous ces facteurs créent un large fossé entre les capitaines et les officiers inférieurement classés.

Ils fonctionnent comme des Directeurs généraux et déterminent la direction, l'organisation, les stratégies et la politique de leur division. Le pouvoir qu'un capitaine a sur sa division est absolu et ne peut être remis en cause par des officiers ou des capitaines d'autres divisions. A capitaine peut choisir de changer la spécialité de sa division (ce qu'à fait Kisuke Urahara après être devenu capitaine de la 12ème Division). Puisque les capitaines ont une autorité suprême sur leur division respective, les divisions sont des entités séparées et non une force militaire cohésive. De cette manière, ils n'ont le droit que de sanctionner les actions de leurs officiers et pas ceux d'autres divisions, à moins que la division en question n'a pas de capitaine et que les actions des officiers sont contre les lois et règles de la Soul Society.

C'est dans les capitaines du Gotei 13 que réside le pouvoir réel de la Soul Society, étant les dirigeants de cette branche militaire. Lorsqu'ils sont prêt à déployer toute leur force, la Soul Society est en sécurité et presque imbattable. S'ils sont brisés, leur force diminue, les rendant tous très vulnérables. 

Il y a trois différentes manières de devenir capitaine du Gotei 13 :

  1. Le Test de Maîtrise de Capitaine (隊首, taishu) : un examen qui demande la capacité de performer le Bankai. Presque tous les Shinigami deviennent capitaines en utilisant cette méthode. Au moins trois capitaines, y compris le Capitaine-Commandant, doivent être témoins de l'examen.
  2. Recommandantion Personnelle : avoir une recommandation personnelle d'au moins six capitaines et l'approbation d'au moins trois des sept restants.
  3. Epreuve par Combat : gagner contre un capitaine en un-contre-un avec au moins 200 témoins de la division du capitaine. Cette méthode est vue comme la plus rare et la moins rafinée des trois. La méthode est en général mal vue par certains capitaines qui la trouvent barbare aux autres modes d'accès au poste. Cette méthode permet à l'un de passer outre l'incapacité de performer le Bankai ou d'autres abilités qu'un capitaine devrait autrement maîtriser, puisqu'il permet d'accéder au rang sans jugement ou évaluation de compétences. Certes rare dans d'autres divisions, la 11ème a été adaptée pour n'utiliser que cette méthode d'accès, laissant chaque capitaine atteindre le rang en tuant son prédécesseur.

LieutenantModifier

  • un Lieutenant (副隊長, fukutaichōViz "Capitaine Assistant", souvent Vice-Capitaine) est l'officier 2ème siège d'une division.

​Les lieutenants fonctionnent comme des Commandants en second dans leur division, prenant soin de la supervision des opérations jour après jour. Ils ne connaissent en général que le Shikai de leur Zanpakutō, mais ils restent les deuxièmes plus forts de leur division. En cas de mort, départ du capitaine ou différente circonstance le ou la rendant incapable de d'accomplir ses tâches, le lieutenant agit en tant que "capitaine remplaçant" jusqu'à ce qu'un nouveau soit assigné au poste.

Le pouvoir de nommer ou licencier un lieutenant appartient seulement au capitaine de la division respective, un privilège qui leur a été offert par la Chambre des 46. Les capitaines ont le droit de nommer plusieurs lieutenants en même temps, mais c'est une occurence très rare due au fait que c'est considéré comme un choix peu orthodoxe qui est en plus mal vu par la Chambre des 46. Quelconque condidat potentiel a le droit de décliner la nommination au poste.

Officiers SiègesModifier

Les officiers sièges sont le reste des officiers du Gotei 13 allant du 3ème rang au plus bas. Les capitaines et les lieutenants détiennents les rangs du 1er et 2ème sièges respectivement. Après ça, il y a 18 autres sièges (3ème au 20ème). Au Gotei 13, seulement une personne peut détenir un rang d'officier senior (comme le 3ème ou 5ème siège), mais il y a plusieurs personnes pour les officiers de rangs inférieurs (ex 20ème siège). Cela varie entre les divisions, puisqu'il y a pas exemple deux 3ème Sièges dans la 13ème Division. Les officiers sièges gèrent souvent des minis unités dans chaque division (par exemple, le 3ème Siège Hanatarō Yamada ō Yamada est le chef de la 14ème Equipe de Soulagement Avancé de la 4ème Division)

DivisionsModifier

Les divisions actuellement, pendant l'arc de la Guerre sanglante millénaire ;

Division Capitaine Vice-capitaines Rôle Devise Emblème Signification

de l'emblème

1re division (一番隊, ichibantai?) Kyoraku Shunsui (Promu à la mort de Genryûsai Shigekuni Yamamoto)

Ise Nanao et Genshiro Okikiba(promue à la mort de Sasakibe Chojirô)

Direction du Seireitei

[1]Chrysanthème Pouvoir[note 7]
2e division (二番隊, nibantai?) Soi Fon Marechiyo Ōmaeda En charge des services d'espionnage [2]Cyclamen Poison
3e division (三番隊, sanbantai?) Rōjūrō  "Rose" Izuru Kira Archives et traque de certains Hollows [3]Souci officinal Désespoir /

Non-violence

4e division (四番隊, yonbantai?)

Isane Kotetsu (promu à la mort de Retsu Unohana)

Kiyone Kotetsu Soins /

Ravitaillement / Entretiens des locaux

[4]Gentiane Médecine
5e division (五番隊, gobantai?) Shinji Hirako Momo Hinamori [5]Muguet Humilité
6e division (六番隊, rokubantai?) Byakuya Kuchiki Renji Abarai

Enquêtes internes du Seireitei

Noblesse, pureté et rationalité [6]Camélia Noblesse[note 7] /Valeur
7e division (七番隊, nanabantai?)

Tetsuzaemon Iba (promu à la Perte des pouvoirs de Sajin Komamura)

Vacant (capitaine promu à la septième division) Défense du Seireitei [7]Iris Courage /

Honneur

8e division (八番隊, hachibantai?) Lisa Yadômaru Vacant 

(vice-capitaine promu à la première division)

[8]Strelitzia Satisfaction
9e division (九番隊, kyūbantai?) Kensei Muguruma Hisagi Shuhei et Mashiro Kuna

En charge de la sécurité du Seireitei

[9]Renoncule Oubli
10e division (十番隊, jūbantai?) Tōshirō Hitsugaya Rangiku Matsumoto Organisation militaire /

Responsable stratégique et tactique du Seireitei/ office de police militaire

[10]Narcisse Contentement
11e division (十一番隊, jūichibantai?) Kenpachi Zaraki Madarame Ikkaku Division de combat La victoire ou la mort [11]Achillée Violence
12e division (十二番隊, jūnibantai?) Mayuri Kurotsuchi Akon Développement technologique [12]Chardon Vigilance
13e division (十三番隊, jūsanbantai?) Rukia Kuchiki

(Promue à la mort de Jushiro Ukitake)

Vacant (capitaine promu à la treizième division)

Surveillance du monde terrestre

[13]Perce-neige Espoir

Transfert vers une Autre DivisionModifier

Les officiers ne restent pas forcément toute leur vie dans la division assignée. Il est d'usage d'être transféré dans une autre division après avoir gagné de l'expérience, un événement qui coincide avec une promotion.

Taille et RecrutementModifier

Chaque Division est composée d'environ plus de 200 Shinigami, le Gotei 13 étant une force active de près de 3000 troupes enrôlées. Les Shinigami sont généralement recrutés grâce à l'Académie Shinigami, mais il faut remarquer que tous les diplômés n'arrivent pas jusqu'aux Gotei 13. Les diplômés de l'Académie doivent passer un examen d'entrée pour le Gotei 13, et seulement ceux qui le réussissent pouvent rejoindre le Gotei. Cet examen peut être passé plusieurs fois. L'influence des Familles Nobles peut cependant passer outre le processus, comme ce fut le cas pour Rukia Kuchiki qui reçut son diplôme en avance et se vit placée dans le Gotei 13 à la demande de Byakuya Kuchiki.

InsignesModifier

Chacune des 13 Divisions du Gotei 13 a son propre symbole qui représente le rôle principal de la division. Lorsqu'une limite de pouvoir est placée sur un lieutenant ou un capitaine, leur symbole apparaît sur une certaine partie de leur corps jusqu'à ce que la limite soit levée. Chaque symbole a un sens précis.

UniformesModifier

La majorité du personnel du Gotei 13 porte l'uniforme de Shinigami standard, appelé Shihakushō (死覇装, Vêtement des Âmes Mortes) - un shitagi blanc (下着, sous vêtement), un kosode noir (小袖, manche courte), un hakama noir (袴), hakama-himo blanc, un tabi blanc (足袋, poche de pied) et un waraji (草鞋). Le kosode noir a l'insigne de la division de son propriétaire imprimée à l'intérieur. Les lieutenants portent parfois un brassard, le plus souvent au bras gauche, sur lequel le symbole et le numéro de leur division y sont inscrits. On leur demande de faire ça lorsqu'ils sont convoqués à une réunion, mais sinon c'est rarement obligatoire.

Les Capitaines portent un haori blanc (羽織) par-dessus leurs habits de Shinigami habituels, avec le numéro de leur division sur le dos inscrit au centre du symbole du Gotei 13 (un losange). Certains capitaines ont des manches longues tandis que ce n'est pas le cas pour certains. La couleur de la doublure intérieure est spécifique à la division -ou au moins au capitaine-, puisque chaque capitaine a une couleur différente. Le haori est censé représenter le statut de capitaine, et Yamamoto était furieux lorsque les Capitaines Kuchiki, Kyōraku et Zaraki ont perdu les leurs en combat et s'en fichaient complètement.

Customisation d'uniformeModifier

Les officiers du Gotei 13, notamment les capitaines et les lieutenants, customistement souvent leur apparence personnelle ou celle de leur uniforme. Certaines de ces modifications incluent : 


Voir AussiModifier

RéférencesModifier

NavigationsModifier

galeries Modifier

Index-1460109793
2-0
3-0
4
5-0
6
7
8
9-0
10
11
12-0
13-1


Interférence d'un bloqueur de publicité détectée !


Wikia est un site gratuit qui compte sur les revenus de la publicité. L'expérience des lecteurs utilisant des bloqueurs de publicité est différente

Wikia n'est pas accessible si vous avez fait d'autres modifications. Supprimez les règles personnalisées de votre bloqueur de publicité, et la page se chargera comme prévu.

Sur le réseau FANDOM

Wiki au hasard

Wikia

Bleach Wiki

Gotei 13

Talk107
2,101pages on
this wiki
Overview

Gotei 13
Gotei13symbol
Kanji 護廷十三隊
English 13 Court Guard Squads
Romaji Goteijūsantai
Organization
Founder(s) Genryūsai Shigekuni Yamamoto
Headquarters Seireitei, Soul Society
Leader(s) Captain-Commander
Senior Member(s) Captains of the Gotei 13
Other Members


Affiliation Soul Society; Royal Guard
Kidō Corps; Onmitsukidō
Purpose Primary Defense/Offense Force of Soul Society
"Dying to exterminate great evil. Know that this is the spirit of the Gotei 13."
- Genryūsai Shigekuni Yamamoto[1]

The Gotei 13 (護廷十三隊, Goteijūsantai; 13 Division Imperial Guards, 13 Court Guard Squads in the English dub, 13 Court Guard Companies in the English manga) is the primary military branch of Soul Society and the main military organization most Shinigami join after leaving the academy.

History

TheFirstGotei

The first 13 captains.

While the history of the Gotei 13 remains largely unknown, the organization was founded by Genryūsai Shigekuni Yamamoto, who has stood at the head of the group since its inception.[2]

The first generation of the Gotei 13 consisted of Yamamoto, Yachiru Unohana and 11 other captains. Shunsui Kyōraku considers this generation to be the strongest version of the Gotei 13.[3]

According to Yhwach, the original Gotei 13 were "defenders" in name only, comprising nothing less than a brutal mob of killers, but it was for this very reason they were a force to be feared. It is noted the Gotei 13 underwent dramatic changes after the extermination of the Quincy, mellowing out in the ensuing peace, having now found a sense of justice upon discovering things to protect and treasure.[4]

Mission

The Gotei 13 serves as a military force with its primary responsibilities consisting of:

  • The defense of the Seireitei, the center of Soul Society.
  • The deployment of Division members into enemy territory for combat operations.
  • The deployment of Task Forces as defensive measures in the Human World.
  • The guiding of souls to Soul Society.

General Operation

The Gotei 13 does not normally operate as a cohesive unit. The command of the divisions are generally left to the discretion of its particular Captain, who commonly runs it whatever way he or she sees fit, allowing for the change of a division's traditional duties to an entirely new set and even the creation of a separate institution connected to the division. The Gotei 13's main duty is to defend the Seireitei, but they are allocated districts in Rukongai to defend.[5] In addition to these duties, Shinigami have to deal with the business of being assigned to the Human World.[5]

The only general authority to call forth a combined front is an edict from the Central 46 Chambers, or more often the Captain-Commander. It is not uncommon for captains to not see each other as a whole group for long periods of time, except for cases involving a threat to all of Soul Society, a captain's punishment, or, to a lesser degree, a captain's promotion. On a regular basis, the captains are spread out all across Soul Society doing their divisions' duties, whatever they may be. They are so far spread out, getting the captains together as a group, or even getting their lieutenants together as a group, could normally take a day to accomplish.

Unless specifically ordered by the Captain-Commander, captains can choose whether or not to attend meetings (at their own risk) or not even involve themselves in the daily situations of Soul Society. Captains are not allowed, without permission, to carry out activities outside of their normal jurisdiction or their division. The captain of one division cannot punish the subordinates of another captain.

Officially, the Kidō Corps and Onmitsukidō are not part of the Gotei 13, but since Suì-Fēng is both the captain of the 2nd Division and the head of the Onmitsukidō, the Onmitsukidō is effectively under the control of the Gotei 13. Additionally, the captain of the Kidō Corps has been known to obey summons and orders from the Captain-Commander of the Gotei 13.[6]

Organization

Structure

The Gotei 13 is made up of thirteen divisions, with several divisions having certain specializations.[7]

The Gotei 13 is led by the Captain-Commander, who has the statuary authority to conduct all the affairs of the Gotei 13 while deferring to the authority of the Central 46 Chambers in matters involving Soul Society.

As with any army, the Gotei 13 has ranks. There are 20 ranks for officers, but no ranks for non-officers. The lower the number is, the higher the rank. The ranks and their descriptions are below, from highest to lowest in terms of strength. The Gotei 13 is an organization with a merit-based hierarchy. It has disposed of the system of rank based on seniority. Abilities are the only thing used to determine one's rank.[7]

Captain's Council

The captains congregate in the main hall of the First Division Headquarters to discuss important issues involving their specific divisions and matters which affect Soul Society. This council is highly formal, with the captain-commander leading its proceedings. All captains are considered equal (with the exception of the captain-commander), and determine the course of their individual division unless dictated otherwise by the captain-commander. Votes are carried out via a unanimous consensus.

  • The Captain-Commander (総隊長, Sōtaichō; Viz "Captain-General"; Captain-Commander, Head-Captain in the English dub) is the supreme leader of the Gotei 13. The position requires the Captain-Commander to oversee the overall operations of the Gotei 13, Onmitsukidō and Kidō Corps when the well-being of Seireitei and Soul Society is at stake. The only power the Captain-Commander answers to is the Central 46 Chambers, who elect the successor of the current Captain-Commander in the event of their death.[8] The former holder of this title is Captain Genryūsai Shigekuni Yamamoto of the 1st Division, who had held this post for the last 1000 years.[9] The current Captain-Commander is Shunsui Kyōraku.[8]
  • A Captain (隊長, Taichō; lit. Unit Commander) is the leader of one of the thirteen divisions (with the special case of the Captain-Commander).

Captains are generally the most respected Shinigami within the Soul Society, with the leaders of the Kidō Corps and Onmitsukidō possibly being on equal status. With one exception, all captains are able to utilize the final stage of their Zanpakutō, and are far more powerful than even their lieutenants. Knowing Bankai gives captains an average of five-to-ten times the strength of Shinigami who are unable to perform it.[10] They have extensively trained, if not mastered, their Bankai, allowing them to use the enormous power effectively in battle. Most captains are skilled in the use of Shunpo and Kidō, and generally have extensive knowledge of Shinigami history and battle tactics. All of these factors create a vast power gap between captains and lower-ranked officers.

They function as Chief executive officers, and they determine the course, organization, tactics, and policy of their division. The power a captain has over his/her division is absolute and cannot be questioned by subordinates or the captains of the other divisions. A captain can choose to change the division specialty (which Kisuke Urahara did upon becoming captain of the 12th Division). Due to captains having supreme authority in their respective division, the divisions are separate entities and not a cohesive military. In this way, they only have the right to punish the actions of their subordinates and not those of other divisions unless the division in question has no current captain or the subordinate's actions are against the laws or rules of Soul Society.

The true power of Soul Society lies in the captains of the Gotei 13, as they are the leaders of its military arm. With them at full strength, Soul Society is safe and almost unbeatable. If they are broken, their strength dwindles, making them highly vulnerable.

There are three different ways to become a Gotei 13 captain:[11]

  1. Captain Proficiency Test (隊首, taishu): A test which requires the ability to perform Bankai. Nearly all Shinigami become captains using this method. At least three existing captains, including the Captain-Commander, have to witness the test.
  2. Personal Recommendation: To have personal recommendations from at least six captains and approval from at least three of the remaining seven.
  3. Trial by Combat: To defeat a captain one-on-one with at least 200 witnesses from the captain's division. This method is seen as being the exceedingly rarest and the least refined of the three. The method is commonly looked down upon by some captains as barbaric compared to the other refined methods. This method allows one to bypass having the mastery of Bankai or other possible abilities which a captain would otherwise be required to have knowledge of, for it allows no judgment from captains who would require those skills as a prerequisite to join their ranks. Though rare in other Divisions, the Eleventh Division has been set up to exclusively utilize this method, with each captain attaining their rank by killing the predecessor.[12]

Lieutenant

  • A Lieutenant (副隊長, fukutaichō; Viz "Assistant Captain"; vice-unit commander, often translated as vice-captain) is the 2nd seated officer in a division.[13]

Lieutenants function as executive officers for their division, taking care of or supervising day-to-day operations. Along with their captains, they are not assigned to one specific squad. They generally only know the Shikai of their Zanpakutō but they are still the second strongest in their division. In the case of a division captain's death, departure, or other circumstances making him unable to perform their duties, the lieutenant acts as the "substitute captain" until another can be assigned.

The authority to appoint or dismiss a lieutenant lies solely with the captain of the respective division, a privilege which was granted to them with the support of the Central 46 Chambers. Captains reserve the right to appoint multiple lieutenants at a single time, though this is rarely done due to it being both considered highly unorthodox and heavily frowned upon by the Central 46 Chambers. [14] Though rarely exercised, any potential candidate retains the right to decline the nomination.[15]

Seated Officers

Seated officers are the remainder of the officers in the Gotei 13 which hold ranks at or below 3rd Seat. Captains and lieutenants have the ranks of 1st and 2nd Seats, respectively. Next to that, there are 18 more seats (3rd-20th). In the Gotei 13, only one person can hold a senior officer rank (such as 3rd or 5th seat), but there are several holders of junior officer ranks (e.g. 20th seat). This varies from division to division, for there are two 3rd Seats in the 13th Division. Seated officers often lead sub-units within each division (for example, 7th seat Hanatarō Yamada is leader of the 4th Division's 14th Advanced Relief Team).

Divisions

1st Division
Captain Lieutenant 3rd Seat
Shunsui KyōrakuNanao Ise & Genshirō OkikibaN/A
Insignia Insignia Signifies Division Color
ChrysanthemumsTruth and InnocenceDeep Purple
2nd Division
Captain Lieutenant 3rd Seat
Suì-FēngMarechiyo ŌmaedaN/A
Insignia Insignia Signifies Division Color
Pasque flowerSeek NothingDark Orange
3rd Division
Captain Lieutenant 3rd Seat
VacantIzuru KiraRikū Togakushi
Insignia Insignia Signifies Division Color
MarigoldDespairSpring Green (Magic Mint)
4th Division
Captain Lieutenant 3rd Seat
VacantIsane KotetsuYasochika Iemura
Insignia Insignia Signifies Division Color
BellflowerThose Who Grieve Are LovedPuce (Dusky Pink)
5th Division
Captain Lieutenant 3rd Seat
Shinji HirakoMomo HinamoriN/A
Insignia Insignia Signifies Division Color
Lily of the ValleySacrifice, Danger, Pure Love, Humility, SweetnessPale Turquoise
6th Division
Captain Lieutenant 3rd Seat
Byakuya KuchikiRenji AbaraiN/A
Insignia Insignia Signifies Division Color
CamelliaNoble ReasonCobalt Blue
7th Division
Captain Lieutenant 3rd Seat
Sajin KomamuraTetsuzaemon IbaN/A
Insignia Insignia Signifies Division Color
IrisCourageDark Tan
8th Division
Captain Lieutenant 3rd Seat
VacantVacantTatsufusa Enjōji
Insignia Insignia Signifies Division Color
Strelitzia (Bird of Paradise)Everything is ObtainedRaspberry Rose
9th Division
Captain Lieutenant 3rd Seat
VacantShūhei Hisagi & Mashiro KunaN/A
Insignia Insignia Signifies Division Color
White poppyOblivionTenné
10th Division
Captain Lieutenant 3rd Seat
Tōshirō HitsugayaRangiku MatsumotoN/A
Insignia Insignia Signifies Division Color
DaffodilMystery, EgoismDark Green
11th Division
Captain Lieutenant 3rd Seat
Kenpachi ZarakiYachiru KusajishiIkkaku Madarame
Insignia Insignia Signifies Division Color
YarrowFightLavender
12th Division
Captain Lieutenant 3rd Seat
Mayuri KurotsuchiNemu KurotsuchiAkon
Insignia Insignia Signifies Division Color
ThistleVengeance, Strictness, IndependenceOlive Green
13th Division
Captain Lieutenant 3rd Seat
Jūshirō UkitakeRukia KuchikiKiyone Kotetsu & Sentarō Kotsubaki
Insignia Insignia Signifies Division Color
SnowdropHopeMaroon

Transferring to Another Division

Officers do not necessarily serve in their assigned division for life. It is customary to be transferred to another division after gaining some experience, an event which often coincides with a promotion.[16]

Size and Recruitment

Each Division is made up of just over 200 Shinigami, with the Gotei 13's standing force being just around 3000 total enlisted troops.[5] The Shinigami are typically recruited through the Shinigami Academy, but it must be noted not all graduates make it into the Gotei 13.[5] Graduates from the Academy are required to take an entrance exam for the Gotei 13, and only those who pass are allowed to join.[17] This exam can be taken multiple times.[17]

Insignia

Each of the 13 divisions in Gotei 13 have their own symbol which represents the division's primary role. When a power limit is placed on a captain or lieutenant, their symbol appears on a certain part of their body until the limit is lifted. Each symbol has a specific meaning.

GoteiFlower

The Gotei 13 Insignias.

Uniforms

Most Gotei 13 personnel wear the standard Shinigami uniform, called Shihakushō (死覇装, Garment of Dead Souls) - a white shitagi (下着, under clothing), a black kosode (小袖, small sleeve), a black hakama (袴), a white hakama-himo, white tabi (足袋, foot pouch), and waraji (草鞋). The black kosode has its owner's division insignia emblazoned on the inside. Lieutenants sometimes wear an armband which carries their division symbol and its number, usually on their left arm. They are required to do this when they are summoned to a meeting, but apart from this, it is rarely compulsory.[18]

Captains wear a white haori (羽織) over the usual black Shinigami clothes, with the number of their division on the back inside the Gotei 13 symbol (a rhombus). Some captains have long sleeves, while the others do not. The color of the underside is division--or at least captain--specific, for every captain has a different color of it.

Uniform Customization

Gotei 13 officers, particularly captains and lieutenants, often customize their personal appearance or that of their uniform. Some of these modifications include:

  • Captain Shunsui Kyōraku of the 1st Division wears a straw hat and a gaudily-colored kimono (着物, thing to wear) over his uniform.
  • Captain Suì-Fēng of the 2nd Division wears a sleeveless and backless Shinigami outfit (when she is fighting) under her haori, which is standard issue for the head of the Onmitsukidō. She wears a yellow sash a layer above, but slightly lower than her white one.
  • Captain Retsu Unohana of the 4th Division wears an obi (帯, おび, sash) rather than a standard sash.
  • Captain Byakuya Kuchiki of the 6th Division wears an expensive scarf named Ginpaku Kazahana no Uzuginu (銀白風花の紗, Silks of the Silverwhite Wildflower) and a white ceremonial hairpiece called kenseikan (牽星箝, Star-Pulling Insert), symbolizing his noble lineage. 17 months after Aizen's defeat, he wears a finely crafted captain's haori.
  • Captain Sajin Komamura of the 7th Division wears shoulder guards over his haori and large gloves which go up to his arms. He used to wear a helmet to hide his appearance, but he has removed it.
  • Captain Kaname Tōsen, formerly of the 9th Division, wears an orange scarf with his outfit, a sleeveless kosode, and white boots.
  • Captain Kensei Muguruma of the 9th Division wears a sleeveless kosode.
  • Captain Tōshirō Hitsugaya of the 10th Division wears a green sash pinned with a star around his shoulder to hold his sword.
  • Captain Kenpachi Zaraki of the 11th Division wears a jagged edged haori, which was taken from the previous captain of the 11th Division.
  • Captain Mayuri Kurotsuchi of the 12th Division wears a bloated purple cravat and a hat decorated with two horizontal spikes. He later changes the hat.
  • Lieutenant Chōjirō Sasakibe of the 1st Division wears a jinbaori over his shihakushō.
  • Lieutenant Marechiyo Ōmaeda of the 2nd Division wears a large purple collar behind his head.
  • Lieutenant Shūhei Hisagi of the 9th Division wears a sleeveless kosode and black choker.
  • Lieutenant Rangiku Matsumoto of the 10th Division wears a top which is deliberately loose and hangs open to reveal her ample bosom. She wears a pink scarf (or stole), and wears her lieutenant's badge around her waist with her sash, tied in a bow.
  • Lieutenant Nemu Kurotsuchi of the 12th Division wears no hakama, instead wearing a mini-skirt version of the kosode which is belted at the waist.
  • Lieutenant Rukia Kuchiki of the 13th Division wears a short sleeved version of the shihakushō. She wears fingerless white tekkou, similar to Byakuya's, which extend past her elbows.
  • 5th Seat Yumichika Ayasegawa of the 11th Division wears an orange piece of clothing on top of his uniform around the neck connected to his arm, which covers most of his chest which would otherwise be exposed by his uniform.
  • All known members of the 9th Division, excluding Mashiro Kuna and Toshimori Umesada, wear kosode without sleeves, including the former captains.

See also

References

  1. Bleach manga; Chapter 393, page 15
  2. Bleach Book of SOULs, page 98
  3. Bleach manga; Chapter 523, page 17
  4. Bleach manga; Chapter 511, page 11
  5. 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 Bleach Official Character Book Souls
  6. Bleach manga; Chapter -102, pages 7-9
  7. 7.0 7.1 Bleach Book of SOULs, page 100
  8. 8.0 8.1 Bleach manga; Chapter 520, page 2
  9. Bleach manga; Chapter 394, page 7
  10. Bleach manga; Chapter 120, page 10
  11. Bleach manga; Chapter 146, page 1
  12. Bleach manga; Chapter -108, page 11
  13. Because captain describes the unit commander, vice-captain is the most literally accurate translation some have used. The Viz manga translation renders the rank as the similar, but somewhat longer "assistant captain", while the English dub of the anime uses the term "lieutenant". Although this does not apply to modern armies, in historical real-life armies the lieutenant has been the adjutant of the captain, as is the case for fukutaichō and taichō in Bleach. Therefore, lieutenant is a correct real-life equivalent of this rank. Holders of this rank in Gotei 13 have also been called adjutants.
  14. Bleach manga; Chapter 520, page 13
  15. Bleach manga; Chapter -99, page 11
  16. Bleach Official Character Book MASKED, page 70
  17. 17.0 17.1 Bleach manga; Chapter 121, page 1
  18. Bleach manga; Chapter 80, pages 18-19

Navigation

Around Wikia's network

Random Wiki